Free Guided Tours on the DCR Esplanade

Did you know that 150 years ago, the Charles River ran through what is now Back Bay? Or that you can still see bald eagles on the Esplanade?

If not, come learn about the history, wildlife, trees, and gardens of Boston’s premier riverside park. From February through December, the Esplanade Association is excited to offer free guided walking tours on the Esplanade to share the park’s amazing stories, plants, and wildlife. Guided walking tours will last about an hour-and-a-half and cover roughly a mile of the Esplanade and over 150 years of history!

Additional history tours can also be scheduled for a nominal donation. If you would like to schedule a private tour, please email Volunteer & Programs Manager, Karla Noboa (knoboa@esplanade.org).


2019 Public Guided Tours:

Wednesday, February 13 at 10am – History Tour

Wednesday, March 13 at 10am—History Tour

Wednesday, April 10 at 6pm—Photography Tour

Wednesday, May 8 at 10am—Garden Tour

Wednesday, June 12 at 10am—Garden Tour

Wednesday, July 10 at 6pm—History Tour

Friday, July 26 at 8:00am— Bird Walk

Wednesday, August 14 at 10am—Wildlife Tour

Wednesday, August 28 at 8:00am — Bird Walk

Wednesday, September 11 at 6pm—Photography Tour

Wednesday, October 9 at 10am—History Tour

Wednesday, November 13 at 10am—Tree Tour

Wednesday, December 11 at 10am—History Tour


All tours meet at Community Boating Inc., 21 David G Mugar Way, Boston, MA 02114.

If you have any questions please email Karla Noboa (knoboa@esplanade.org).